CoreCited · Alternatives

Prices verified

Athena HQ alternatives

An honest look at Athena HQ — what it costs, what the entry plan actually includes, and where it's genuinely good. Then what we do differently. Every figure below was read from Athena HQ's own pricing page in July 2026.

Entry price
$295/mo
What that really buys
$295/mo buys 3,600 credits and unlimited members. What one credit buys is not stated on the pricing page, so the prompt volume cannot be compared directly with tools that sell prompts.
Free option
An 'Essential' free plan with $25 of credit (300 credits) — presented as ongoing rather than as a trial.Free tier
Engines tracked
ChatGPT · Perplexity · Google AI Overviews · Google AI Mode · Gemini · Claude · Copilot · Grok · DeepSeek · Meta AI · Mistral
Action layer
Content optimisation agent, on-page and off-page actions, CSV export.
We couldn't verify: What one credit buys — their pricing page does not define it. We'd rather leave a gap than print a number we haven't read ourselves.

Where is Athena HQ genuinely strong?

Where does Athena HQ fall short?

The honest verdict
Athena HQ is a reasonable choice at $295/mo. What it shares with every other tool in this category is that it reports AI visibility as a single confident number. Given that AI citations churn by more than half every week, that number is often noise being presented as insight — and no dashboard in this space will tell you which is which.

Where CoreCited is different

1. We tell you if you're in the core, or just the carousel
AI answers churn — SISTRIX measured 56% weekly source churn in Google AI Mode across 82,619 prompts. But the same study found that 86.5% of prompts keep a stable core of 1–5 names that persist week after week, while ~89% of everything else rotates. So "am I mentioned?" is close to a coin flip. The question that matters is whether you're in the durable core or the churn. No other tool distinguishes these.
2. We show you the error bars, and grey out the noise
Share of voice is estimated from a finite sample, so it carries sampling error. On a realistic sample, brands sitting at 27%, 25% and 22% are statistically indistinguishable — their confidence ranges overlap completely. Every other dashboard renders that as a confident 1–2–3 ranking. We mark it as a tie and tell you not to act on it.
3. We tell you when the fix didn't work
Mark a content brief published and we snapshot where you stand, then measure whether it actually moved you — and we'll say "no movement" or "you slipped" when that's the truth. A loop that can only report success is marketing, not measurement.

What do people ask about Athena HQ?

How much does Athena HQ cost?

$295/mo buys 3,600 credits and unlimited members. What one credit buys is not stated on the pricing page, so the prompt volume cannot be compared directly with tools that sell prompts. That figure was read from Athena HQ's own pricing page on 23 September 2026, not from a roundup — pricing in this category moves, so check it against their page before deciding.

Does Athena HQ have a free plan?

An 'Essential' free plan with $25 of credit (300 credits) — presented as ongoing rather than as a trial. It is worth reading that carefully: in this category "free" most often means a time-limited trial with a card up front, which is a different thing from a plan that stays free.

Which AI engines does Athena HQ track?

ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Overviews, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Claude, Copilot, Grok, DeepSeek, Meta AI, Mistral — 11 surfaces as listed on their own site. Counts in this category are not always comparable: some tools count a model and the product built on it as two engines, so compare the named surfaces rather than the number.

Is there a cheaper alternative to Athena HQ?

Yes — 6 of the tools in our table publish a lower entry price, the lowest being Otterly.AI at $29 a month. Cheaper is not automatically better: read what each entry plan actually includes, because a low price often buys very few prompts on very few surfaces.

What does Athena HQ not do?

Credit-based pricing with no published conversion, so you cannot work out what $295 actually tracks before buying. Persona targeting, multiple countries and their citation engine are Enterprise-only. API access is a paid add-on rather than included. One thing it shares with every tool here, including ours: none of them can tell you how much traffic an AI answer sent you. No API exposes it and analytics cannot separate it from ordinary organic search.

Other alternatives to consider

How we sourced this: every price and limit above was read from the vendor's own pricing page in July 2026 — not from a roundup article. We checked, and blog roundups in this category get it wrong more often than not. Vendors change pricing frequently, so verify before you buy: athenahq.ai. Spotted something out of date? Tell us and we'll fix it.